Schumann Intermezzo from Carnival Scenes from Vienna, Op. 26

Faschingsschwank aus Wien (Carnival Scenes from Vienna or Carnival Jest from Vienna), Op. 26, is a solo piano work by Robert Schumann. He began composition of the work in 1839 in Vienna. He wrote the first four movements in Vienna, and the last on his return to Leipzig. The Intermezzo is marked by its flowing sound, created by a steady stream of right-hand notes in the background, interspersed with melody notes. The piece, almost entirely based on transpositions, appears difficult at first due to its speed. The background notes are mostly suited to the shape and position of the hand, despite a few leaps of the melody; in the end, the left hand takes a modified, E-flat major version of the E-flat minor melody, under the right hand. 
Become a Patron!


Intermezzo - op. 26, no. 4
JouerMettre en pause



Il n'y a pas encore de question.