Piano Trio no. 1, Op. 32

Anton Arensky composed his Trio in D minor, Op. 32, in 1894. It was written in memory of Karl Davidov, a famous cellist and director of the St. Petersburg Conservatory. The whole work is in four movements, with the first movement built on three themes. The subsequent scherzi is the only movement in the major mode. Movement three, “Elegia,” is the most serious of the four. The finale opens with the most dramatic theme in the entire work, replacing the air of lamentation with a combative stance, but balanced by a reminiscence ... plus
Radio App
Get the Radio App

Stream great classical music on the Web, Mobile or Apple TV

Download the App



Piano Trio no. 1, Op. 32


There are no questions yet.