In music, a march is a piece with a regular rhythm, written in such a style that it could accompany a marching procession. There are military marches, celebratory marches, and funeral marches, with the first usually being performed by wind and brass bands. They almost always include a steady percussion section. Marches can be written in any time signature, but the standard is 4/4, 2/4, or 6/8, with an average tempo of 120 beats per minute. Formally, they tend to repeat sections numerous times, modulating to the nearest keys (like the subdominant or the relative) and including counter-melodies during the repetition of a main melody.


Franz Liszt Franz Schubert Franz von Blon Franz Wustmann Frederic Hymen Cowen Friedrich Berr Friedrich Grützmacher Friedrich Kuhlau G. Weingarten Gabriel Baille Gabriel Verdalle Geo. P. Wright George Arthur Barker George Barker of Boston George Carter George Elbridge Whiting George Frederick Bristow George Job Elvey George Nelson Allen George Schleiffarth Georges Bachmann Giacomo Meyerbeer Gioachino Antonio Rossini Giovanni Corsi Gus W. Bernard Gustav Adolf Merkel Gustav Blessner Gustave Cornisset Halfdan Kjerulf Hans Arvesen Hans von Aufsess Hector Berlioz Henri Chollet Henri Vieuxtemps Henry Berger Henry Purcell Henry Richard Bird Herbert Straus Gardner Herbert Walter Wareing Hermann Adolf Wollenhaupt Hiram G. Barrus Ignaz Brüll Ireno Batista Lopes Isaac Albéniz Isaac Doles J. Franz J. Haydn Waud Jacob Henry Ellis Jacob Kunkel Jacques Blumenthal James Bellak James Melville Fulton Jean Baptiste Lully Jean Vogt Jean-Baptiste Maillochaud Jean-Hippolyte Cousin Jeremiah Clarke João Domingos Bomtempo Johan Halvorsen Johann Anton André Johann Baptist Cramer Johann Kaspar Aiblinger Johann Nepomuk Hummel Johann Sebastian Bach Johann Strauss Jr Johann Wenzel Kalliwoda Johannes Frederik Frøhlich John Baptiste Calkin John C. Andrews John Hyatt Brewer John Philip Sousa John Spencer Camp John Wiegand Josef Bayer Josef Franz Wagner Josef Suk Joseph Ascher Joseph Callaerts Joseph Wagner Joseph Woelfl Juan Cabanilles Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga Jules Danbé Jules Egghard Jules Massenet