Bach Fantasia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 537

The Fantasia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 537 is an organ piece written by Johann Sebastian Bach. He was hired in 1709 by Weimar's ruling duke, Wilhelm Ernst, as an organist and member of the court orchestra: during this time period he composed many of his greatest organ works. His fame as an organist grew, and he was visited by students of the organ to hear him play and to try to learn from his technique. His Fantasia and Fugue in C minor was composed in the latter part of his tenure in Weimar, but we are not sure as to in which year though; many estimates put the date of composition in 1723. The combined length of the fantasia and the fugue is about eight minutes: the fantasia is a lush and ornate piece, and it features no cadenza-like passage in which a performer could show off their virtuosity. The fugue uses a steady theme four times in a row that can be easily recognised each time that it reappears. The whole set was trnascriben by Edward Elgar.
Become a Patron!


1 - Fantasia 537
2 - Fugue 537
Fantasia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 537 (Organ)



No hay preguntas aún.