Bach Sonaten und Partiten für Violine solo

Johann Sebastian Bach finished his Sonata for solo Violin in C major, BWV 1005 in 1720. It was completed together with the rest of the Sonatas and partitas for solo Violin, a set of works that helped to establish the character and technical capabilities of the violin as a solo instrument. The whole set was published in 1802 by Simrock, and largely ignored until celebrated violinist Joseph Joachim started performing them, thus helping them become basic pieces in the solo violin repertoire. The Sonata for solo Violin, BWV 1005, is a work in four movements. Its opening movement introduced a slow stacking up of notes, a technique once thought to be impossible on bowed instruments. The fugue is the most complex and extensive of the three, with the subject derived from the chorale Komm, heiliger Geist, Herre Gott. Bach employs many contrapuntal techniques, including a stretto, an inversion, as well as diverse examples of double counterpoint.
Page # of #
Become a Patron!



II. Fuga
Violin Sonata no. 3 in C major, BWV 1005



Es gibt noch keine Fragen.